The Viking’s Chosen

The Viking’s Chosen (Clan Hakon #1) by Quinn Loftis (2018)
-eARC Review-

the viking's chosen

Fiction | Historical | Romance
3 StarsBlurb:

“His orders are clear: launch a raid against England and bring home the spoils of war. But the prophecy is also clear: General Torben will take a foreign bride—one who is a seer and healer just like his mother. The eldest princess of England is said to be just that…a beautiful, charming, and headstrong woman. But he’s a Viking army general and she’s an English princess—and one who is already promised to the king of Tara. Continue reading

Advertisements

The Crown’s Game

The Crown’s Game (The Crown’s Game #1) by Evelyn Skye (2016)

the crown's game

YA Fiction | Fantasy
3 Stars
Blurb:

“Vika Andreyeva can summon the snow and turn ash into gold. Nikolai Karimov can see through walls and conjure bridges out of thin air. They are enchanters—the only two in Russia—and with the Ottoman Empire and the Kazakhs threatening, the tsar needs a powerful enchanter by his side.

And so he initiates the Crown’s Game, an ancient duel of magical skill—the greatest test an enchanter will ever know. The victor becomes the Imperial Enchanter and the tsar’s most respected adviser. The defeated is sentenced to death.  Continue reading

Half Bad

Half Bad (Half Bad #1) by Sally Green (2014)

Half Bad

YA Fiction | Fantasy/Magical Realism
3.5 Stars
Blurb:

Wanted by no one.
Hunted by everyone.

Sixteen-year-old Nathan lives in a cage: beaten, shackled, trained to kill. In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most terrifying and violent witch, Marcus. Nathan’s only hope for survival is Continue reading

A Shadow Bright and Burning

A Shadow Bright and Burning (Kingdom on Fire #1) by Jessica Cluess (2016)

A shadow bright and burning

YA Fiction | Fantasy
4 Stars
Blurb:

I am Henrietta Howel. The first female sorcerer. The prophesied one. Or am I?

Henrietta Howel can burst into flames. When she is brought to London to train with Her Majesty’s sorcerers, she meets her fellow sorcerer trainees, young men eager to test her powers and her heart. One will challenge her. One will fight for her. One will betray her. As Henrietta discovers the secrets hiding behind the glamour of sorcerer life, she begins to doubt that she’s the true prophesied one. With battle looming, how much will she risk to save the city–and the one she loves?”
Goodreads 
Continue reading

Gilded Cage

Gilded Cage (Dark Gifts #1) by Vic James (2017)
-ARC Review-

Gilded Cage

Fiction | Urban Fantasy | Dystopia
4.5 stars
Blurb:

“For readers of Victoria Aveyard and George RR Martin comes a darkly fantastical debut set in a modern England where magically gifted aristocrats rule and commoners are doomed to serve.

NOT ALL ARE FREE.
NOT ALL ARE EQUAL.
NOT ALL WILL BE SAVED.

Our world belongs to the Equals—aristocrats with magical gifts—and all commoners must serve them for ten years. But behind the gates of England’s grandest estate lies a power that could break the world.  Continue reading

Of Beast and Beauty

Of Beast and Beauty by Stacey Jay (2013)

Of Beast and Beauty

YA Fiction | Romance | Fantasy/Sci-Fi4.5 starsBlurb:

In the beginning was the darkness, and in the darkness was a girl, and in the girl was a secret…

In the domed city of Yuan, the blind Princess Isra, a Smooth Skin, is raised to be a human sacrifice whose death will ensure her city’s vitality. In the desert outside Yuan, Gem, a mutant beast, fights to save his people, the Monstrous, from starvation. Neither dreams that together, they could return balance to both their worlds.  Continue reading

Kurios

Kurios: Cabinet of Curiosities
Cirque du Soleil

kurios-show

ATLANTA, GA – April 30, 2016

For the first time in my whole life I got to finally see a Cirque du Soleil show. My brother bought us tickets as a gift for my 22nd birthday and he couldn’t have chosen a better gift. I’ve been highly anticipating this show since my birthday in March! I’m actually amazed he thought of it really. I mean, I love Cirque du Soleil but I’m also a Theatre major and so my brother and I operate on slightly different planes (he’s not into musicals, theatre, overly arty stuff, etc.). Actually he did admit to me that he had no idea what to expect because Cirque du Soleil just isn’t his scene. But he bought us tickets and took me to see them anyway.

I’m really glad I got to go with my brother, and him knowing nothing about it made it even better. It was mind-blowingly fantastic for me, but for my brother, well, his world was shattered, in a good way.  Continue reading